Mar 13, 2016

Second Hockey India Annual Awards; Sreejesh, Manpreet in line for top prize

Sreejesh, Manpreet and Lakra in fray for top award

Initiative to recognize and reward top performers of year enters 2nd year as Hockey India announces the nominations for its Annual Awards which will be held in Bengaluru on 26th March. 

Along with rewarding the top players of the year, Hockey India will also facilitate the women hockey team and the support which qualified for the Olympics for the first time since 1980. The junior team will be facilitated for winning Junior Asia Cup while senior men team will be recognized for winning bronze in Hockey World League finals. 

Second edition of Hockey India Annual awards will have a total cash award of Rs. 2 crore with both men and women team player of the year to get Rs. 25 lacs each along with a trophy. Besides, Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement award has cash reward of Rs. 30 lacs, Jugraj Singh and Asunta Lakra Upcoming Young player of the year award winner to get Rs. 10 lacs each. 

The categories of the award include:

-          Player of the Year (Men and Women)
-          Jugraj Singh Upcoming Player of the Year (Men)
-          Asunta Lakra Upcoming Player of the Year (Women)
-          President Award For Outstanding Achievement
-          Baljit Singh Goalkeeper of the Year
-          Pargat Singh Defender of the Year
-          Ajit Pal Singh Midfielder of the Year
-          Dhanraj Pillay Forward of the Year and
-          Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award

Birendra Lakra, PR Sreejesh, Manpreet Singh and Akashdeep Singh will fight for men player of the year award while Rani Rampal, Deepika, Ritu Rani and Savita are in line to win women player of the award. 

The nominees for 2nd Hockey India Annual Awards of the year are:

Player of the year (Men) - Birendra Lakra, PR Sreejesh, Manpreet Singh and Akashdeep Singh

Player of the year (Women) - Rani Rampal, Deepika, Ritu Rani and Savita

Jugraj Singh Upcoming player of the year (men) - Armaan Qureshi, Dipsan Tirkey, Harmanpreet Singh and Harjeet Singh

Asunta Lakra Upcoming player of the year (women) - Sonika, Deep Grace Ekka, Preeti Dubey and Lilima Minz

Baljit Singh Award for Goalkeeper of the year- Savita, Harjot Singh, PR Sreejesh and Rajani

Pargat Singh Award for Defender of the year- Birendra Lakra, Kothajit singh, Deepika and Sushila Chanu

Ajit Pal Singh Award for Midfielder of the Year- Manpreet Singh, Sardar Singh, Harjeet Singh and Ritu Rani

Dhanraj Pillay Award for Forward of the Year- Akashdeep Singh, Rani, SV Sunil and Anuradha

Hockey India will also award the players who have achieved the milestone of representing Indian in their 100th or 200th game during the year and will also award players who have scored goals on their debuts. The milestone award will get the cash prize of Rs. 1 lacs while goal on debut appearance will win Rs. 50000 each. 

The event will be shown live on Star Sports 4, HD 4 and on March 26.

No comments:

Post a Comment