Aug 11, 2013

Asia Cup: Indian team announced

Eighteen member Indian team for Asia Cup was announced today by Hockey India. Hockey India Selectors Mr. B P Govinda, Dr. R P Singh and Mr. Arjun Halappa, Director High Performance & Interim Chief Coach, Senior Men Team Mr. Roelant Oltmans, Coach, M K Kaushik and Scientific Advisor Mr. Jason Konrath alongwith the Government Observer Mr. Harbinder Singh selected the list of 18 players during the selection trials conducted at SAI Centre, Bangalore from 25-27 July 2013.
Team photo for the tournament

The team will be captained by midfielder Sardara Singh while goalkeeper PR Sreejesh has been named as the vice-captain of the team. Indian team is weakened by the injuries to strikers SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Gurwinder Chandi and Danish Mujtaba.

Placed in Pool B of the competition, India will face the likes of Korea, Bangladesh and Oman while Pool A consists of Pakistan, Malaysia, Japan and Chinese-Taipei.

After missing out on World Cup qualification through World Hockey League, Asia Cup is the only opportunity for the Indian team to qualify. Interestingly no Asian team has qualified for the tournament so far. So, there will be only one place among Asian team in the tournament.

Following is the Indian team for Asia Cup:

P R  Sreejesh (Vice-Captain), P T Rao

V R Raghunath, Rupinder Pal Singh, Amit Rohidas, Kothajit Singh, Birendra Lakra, Gurmail Singh

Sardar Singh (Captain), Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh, Dharamvir Singh, S K Uthappa
Ramandeep Singh, Nithin Thimmaiah, Mandeep Singh, Malak Singh, Nikin Thimmaiah

Indian team will play its opening game against Oman on 24th August.

ESPN-Star Sports will broadcast the tournament in India

No comments:

Post a Comment