Jul 6, 2013

Probables list for Asia Cup announced, no place for Sandeep, Shivendra

Sandeep Singh dropped from probables list
Hockey India announced the list of probables for upcoming Asia Cup starting in Malaysia from August 24. 48 players list does not include the name of penalty corner expert Sandeep Singh and striker Shivendra Singh. Both Sandeep and Shivendra were the part of team which played in Round 3 of Hockey World League.

Hockey Indias chief selectors BP Govinda anad Savitri Purty along with India's chief coach Micheal Nobbs, scientific advisor
Jason Konrath in presence of government observer Harbinder Singh selected the list of 48 players. These players will sweat it out in month long camp to be held in Bangalore from July 16 till August 16. 

After missing out on direct World Cup qualification in Round 3 Hockey World League, India will now have to fight it out in Asia Cup qualify for the World Cup. The list of probables includes seven goalkeepers, just nine defenders, 12 midfielders and twenty forwards. 

Danish Mujtaba who has been included in the list of probables will be out of action for the whole year due to a knee operation. Also participation of Gurwinder Singh Chandi is also in doubt as he has not fully recovered from ankle injury.

Following is the 48 player probables list for Asia Cup:

Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh, PT Rao, Sreenivasa Rao Katharu, Nanak Singh, Naveen Kumar, Jagdeep Dayal, Abhinay Kumar Pandey.

Defenders: VR Raghunath, Rupinder Pal Singh, Harbir Singh Sandhu, Amit Rohidas, Sampath Kumar Maylaram, Gagandeep Singh, Dayananda Chanamthabam, Narinder Pal Singh, Gurmail Singh.

Midfielders: Sardar Singh, Manpreet Singh, M B Aiyappa, Kothajit Singh, Pardeep Mor, Vivek Dhar, Birendra Lakra, Jaspreet Singh, Simranjit Singh, Manjit Kullu, Vikas Pillay, Sumit

Forwards: SV Sunil, Gurwinder Singh Chandi, Chinglensana Singh, Danish Mujtaba, SK Uthappa, Pradhan Sommanna, Nithin Thimmaiah, Dharamvir Singh, Akashdeep Singh, MG Poonacha, Prabhdeep Singh, PL Thimmanna, Sukhdev Singh, Gurpreet Singh, Jasjeet Singh, Nikin Thimmaiah, Harman Preet Singh, Manjinder Singh, M.K Muddappa, Gagandeep Singh

No comments:

Post a Comment