May 29, 2013

Hockey World League Round 3: Indian team announced

Sardara Singh- Indian hockey captain
Penalty corner expert Sandeep Singh marks his return to the Indian team after nearly a year as Hockey India announced its eighteen member team for World Hockey League Round 3, to be played in Netherlands from June 13. The team will be led by midfield maestro Sardara Singh while defender V R Raghunath has been named as the vice-captain of the team.

Hockey India, the squad was selected by HI selectors Balbir Singh, B P Govinda, chief coach Michael Nobbs, Roelant Oltmans (Director-High Performance) along with government observer Harbinder Singh.
Also returning to the side is striker Shivendra Singh who missed Champions Trophy as well as Hockey India League due to injury. National selectors were impressed by Sandeep and Shivendra's performance in the national camp and said, “Both Sandeep and Shivendra have managed to make a comeback on the basis of their performance and fitness. During the camp, they have proved that they still have fire in the belly to represent India."

Sardara Singh returns to Indian side after a year

The team comprises of two goalkeepers, four defenders, five midfielders and seven strikers. The team will miss the services of strikers Danish Mujtaba who is nursing a ligament tear, while Gurvinder Chandi continues to be in the sidelines because of a prolonged ankle injury.

India will leave for the tournament on June 5 and will play their first game against Ireland on June 13.

Following is the eighteen member squad of Indian hockey team:
Goalkeepers: P R Sreejesh, P T Rao.

Defenders: VR Raghunath (vice-captain), Sandeep Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Harbir Singh Sandhu.

Midfielders: Birendra Lakra, Sardar Singh (captain), Manpreet Singh, Kothajit Singh, Gurmail Singh.

Forwards: SV Sunil, Shivendra Singh, Chinglensana Singh, Nithin Thimmaiah, Dharamvir Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh.

1 comment:

  1. chak de india luv u india lets rock !!!!