Dec 9, 2012

Indian team for Asian Champions Trophy announced

Hockey India decided to stick with young players when it announced an unchanged side for Asian Champions Trophy starting December 20 in Doha. India, the defending champions after beating Pakistan in the final of last year tournament will take the same team which played in 2012 Champions Trophy.
Sardara Singh to captain Indian side

Sardara Singh will once again captain the Indian with defender VR Raghunath as his deputy. Goalkeeper PR Sreejesh who was sidelined due to an injury in the Champions Trophy is back in the side after getting fully fit.

Senior players continue to remain out of the side after poor performance in the Olympics.

Here is the Indian team for Asian Champions Trophy:-

Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh and PT Rao

Fullbacks: VR Raghunath (Vice-Captain), Rupinderpal Singh and Harbir Singh

Half-backs: Sardar Singh (Captain), Kothajit Singh, Birendra Lakra, Manpreet Singh and Gurmail Singh

Forwards: SV Sunil, Gurvinder Singh Chandi, Danish Mujtaba, S.K. Uthappa, Nithin Thimmaiah, Yuvraj Walmiki, Dharamvir Singh and Akashdeep Singh

1 comment: