Apr 11, 2012

Junior Asia Cup: Indian team announced

India to play in Junior Asia Cup
Hockey India has announced the Indian team for Junior Asia Cup starting May 3rd in Malaysia. Striker Akashdeep Singh will lead the Indian team in the tournament. The team was selected by Hockey India selectors BP Govinda, Syed Ali and Balbir Singh, alongwith government observer Harbinder Singh. 

Defender Amit Rohidas will be the vice-captain of the team. As widely expected none of the young players who played in unsanctioned World Series Hockey were selected in the team.

Other teams participating in the tournament are hosts Malaysia,  Bangladesh, China, Iran, Japan, South Korea, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

India are the defending champions of the tournament having won last two editions of the tournament. India won Junior Asia Cup is Karachi (2004) and Chennai (2008). Junior Asia Cup will also act as qualifiers for Junior World Cup which will be held in India next year. Gurbaj Singh had led the Indian team for India's last Asia Cup win. 

Following is the Indian team for Junior Asia Cup:

Goalkeepers: Sushant Tirkey, Keshav Dutt

Defenders: Sukhmanjit Singh, Amit Rohidas (vice-captain), Sampath Kumar

Midfielders: Pardeep Mor, Harjit Singh, Surender Kumar, Gurmail Singh, Prabhdeep Singh, Satbir Singh, Munish Rana

Forwards: Mandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh (captain), P.L. Thimmanna, Malak Singh, Sukhdev Singh, Naveen Antil

Standbys: Bhisham Singh Phairembam (GK)), Gaganpreet Singh (DEF), Amit Kumar (MID), Jarmanpreet Singh (MID), Amon Mirash Tirkey (MID), Talwinder Singh (MID), Ranjit Singh (FWD) and Parvinder Singh (FWD)


1 comment:

  1. Shame on HI, looks they do not want to improve on Standards of Indian Hockey by not selecting the likes of Gurjinder Singh and the rest.