Apr 8, 2012

Indian women team for New Zealand tour

Indian team for four nations hockey tournament in New Zealand was announced by Hockey India last month and midfielder Ritu Rani will lead the Indian side for the double leg tournament starting April 12. Defender Joydeep Kaur who has 87 caps under her name will be the vice-captain of the Indian team.

Ritu Rani t0 lead Indian team in New Zealand tour

The Indian team has more or less the same that played in Olympics qualifiers. Yogita Bali will be joined by Sukhmani Virk between the sticks. Indian team is going with just three defenders in the tournament with Pinky Devi, Joydeep Kaur and Kirandeep Kaur handling the Indian defense.

The captain of the team Ritu Rani will shoulder the midfield responsibility along with former captain Asunta Lakra and P Sushila Chanu. Also joining them in midfield duties will be Mukta Barla, Deepika Thakur and Kiran Dahiya.

The forward line has experienced players like Poonam Rani, Rani Rampal along with new players like Navneet Kaur in the team

The selection trials for the tournament was held in SAI training centre in Bhopal and the team was selected by Hockey India selectors along with government observer Harbinder Singh.

Following is the Indian team for the tour of New Zealand.


Goalkeepers: Yogita Bali, Sukhmani Virk.

Defenders: Th. Pinky Devi, Joydeep Kaur (VC), Kirandeep Kaur.

Midfielders: P Sushila Chanu, Asunta Lakra, Mukta Prava Barla, Deepika Thakur, Ritu Rani (C), Kiran Dahiya.

Forwards: Poonam Rani, Rani Rampal, Vandana Katariya, Chanchan Devi, Th Anuradha Devi, Anupa Barla, Navneet Kaur.

Standbys: Savita (Goalkeeper), Deep Grace Ekka (Defender), Namita Toppo (Midfielder), Lily Chanu (Forward).

No comments:

Post a Comment