Jan 30, 2012

Olympics Qualfiers: Indian men team announced

Best Indian forward out of the squad
Mercurial Indian forward and former captain Rajpal Singh was axed from the Indian team selected for Olympics qualifiers by Hockey India. Along with Rajpal, ace midfielder and another former captain Arjun Halappa was also not selected in the team announced today. Arjun Halappa India’s best midfielder is also kept in the reserve. Another veteran midfielder Vikram Pillay also finds himself out of the team.

Rajpal Singh who was in the 32 men probable list for the tournament could not make it further to the 18 men team chosen by the selectors Col. Balbir Singh, BP Govinda and Syed Ali along with government observers Dilip Tirkey and Harbinder Singh. Team coach Michael Nobbs had earlier said that it would be difficult for Rajpal to make a comeback in the team and the selectors did not select the players for the squad.

Interestingly India’s best midfielder Ajrun Halappa was also not selected inspite of the absence of Gurbaj Singh. The four reserves for Olympics Qualifiers are Manjit Kullu, VS Vinaya, Arjun Halappa and Chinglensana Singh.

As usual Indian defence is made of penalty corner experts instead of proper defenders with Sandeep Singh, VR Raghunath and Rupinder Pal Singh handling the defensive duties for the team. All three are poor defenders.

Indian team will be captained by goalkeeper Bharat Chetri.
Following is the Indian team for Olympics Qualifiers

Goalkeepers: - Bharat Chetri (Captain), PR Sreejesh.

Defenders: - Sandeep Singh, VR Raghunath, Rupinderpal Singh.

Midfielders: - Sardar Singh (Vice- Captain), Manpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Ignace Tirkey, Kothajit Singh.
Forwards :- S V Sunil, Sarvanjit Singh, Shivendra Singh, Gurvinder Singh Chandi, Tushar Khandker, Danish Mujtaba, Yuvraj Walmiki, S K Uthappa.

Standbys :- Manjeet Kullu (Defender), VS Vinaya (Midfielder), Arjun Halappa (Midfielder), Chinglensana Singh (Forward).


  1. whats the reason Age or Form......what about Prabhjot Singh,Gurbaj, Adrian ??? 

  2. team will go for London....certainly...........