Dec 26, 2011


The Haryana team,winners of the first India Junior Men's National hockey title
The team of Orissa in action
In a promising encounter, Haryana defeated dark horse Orissa 3-2 in the penalty shoot out for a 5-4 aggregate victory to lift the 1st Hockey India Junior Men's National hockey title on Thursday.

The two teams were locked 2-2 at the end of the regulation time.
The new penalty shootout format, wherein a player starts from 30-yard line with the goalkeeper
under the bar and given 8 seconds to score, was introduced for the first time in the nationals, after the stale mate in the summit clash. Haryana lived up to their promise and won 3-2 in this new penalty shootout format.

Many performances were highlighted in this tournament, giving a vivid idea of how good the future of Indian Hockey is going to be. 

The top performers at this tournament were also showered upon with prizes. 
 The following awards were given :

1. Best Goalkeeper: Subodh Tirkey (Orissa)
2. Best Defender: Kiro Xess (Jharkhand)
3. Best Mid-fielder: Pardeep Mor (Haryana)
4. Best forward: Manish Rana (Haryana)
5. Player of the tournament: Mandeep Singh (Punjab)
6. Fair play trophy: Mizoram.

No comments:

Post a Comment