Aug 16, 2011

Asian Champions Trophy: Indian (Women) team announced

Indian captain, Saba Anjum
Indian women's team for Asian Champions Trophy has also been announced by the Hockey India today. Saba Anjum who captained Indian team in Champions Challenge II in absence of Surinder Kaur was again named the captain of the side. Interestingly Surinder Kaur, one of India's best player is missing from the squad.

Also missing is Mamta Kharab who has not represented India for more than a year. The Indian team for second edition of Asian Champions Trophy was selected by Hockey India selectors Col. Balbir Singh, BP Govinda, Rekha Bhide and Rajbir Kaur. The selection process was looked by Governmet obsever Dilip Tirkey.

Following is the Indian team Asian Champions Trophy

Goalkeepers: Yogita Bali and Savita
Defenders: Joydeep Kaur, Jaspreet Kaur and Pinki Devi
Midfielders: Ritu Rani, Asunta Lakra, Kirandeep Kaur, Deepika Thakur, Mukta Parva Barla and Kiran Dhaiya
Forwards: Saba Anjum(C), Jasjeet KAur HAnda, Poonam Rani, Rani Rampal , Vandana Kataria, Anuradha Devi and Soundarya Yendala

Also eight players were selected as stand-byes in case of any injury or pullout
Stand-by: Rajani Etimarpu (GK), Preety Sunila Kiro (Def), MN Ponnamma (Mid), Sushila Chanu (Mid), Deep Grace Ekka (Mid), Roselin Dung Dung (Fwd), Lilima Minz (fwd) and Rashmi Singh (Fwd)

To read the schedule of Asian Champions Trophy, click here

To read the Indian men team for Asian Champions Trophy, click here

(News Source: Times of India)
(Image Source: Google Images)

No comments:

Post a Comment