Apr 19, 2011

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2011: Great Britian team announced

Great Britian team for Sultan Azlan Shah Cup has been announced today. 18 member squad consists of players from England and Scotland. This is the first time that Great Britain team has participated in the tournament. Earlier England team used to participate in the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup. This tournament will provide a great opportunity for the Britain players for the Olympics next year.

Barry Middleton (England captain) will not be participating in the tournament

Announcing the squad, head coach Jason Lee said: “We would not normally be able to attend a high calibre international tournament as Great Britain this early in an Olympic cycle so competing in the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup is a unique opportunity for us. We will be including Iain Lewers for the first time and welcoming back Scotland’s Stephen Dick and Niall Stott in a GB shirt as well as Matt Daly."

Following is the Great Britain's 18 member team for Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2011:
Nick Brothers (GK), James Fair (GK), Richard Alexander, Alastair Brogdon, Jonty Clarke, Matt Daly, Stephen Dick, Adam Dixon, Glenn Kirkham, Iain Lewers, Iain Mackay, Richard Mantell, Simon Mantell, Rob Moore, Richard Smith, Niall Stott, James Tindall and Alastair Wilson  

(Team Source: push hockey website)

No comments:

Post a Comment