Apr 19, 2011

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2011: Australian team announced

Australia has announced its 18 member team for upcoming Sultan Azlan Shah tournament which will be played from 5th May 2011 to 15th May 2011. Injuries and club commitments has forced the Australian coach Ric Charlesworth to select and inexperienced side as compared to Gold medal winning team in last year Commonwealth Games.

Australian team is missing the services of captain Jamie Dwyer who is out for four months due to knee injury along with forward Des Abbot, Graeme Begbie, Joel Carrol and Keiran Govers are out due to injury. Along with them Rob Hammond, Mark Knowles, Eddie Ockenden and Luke Doerner will also not play in the tournament due to their club commitment in the Netherlands.

Australian team will be captained by Liam De Young who has played 250 games for Australia. Australia will have two new new players, Andrew Charter and Jacob Whetton who will make their debut in this edition of tournament. Son of Australian coach Ric Charlesworth, Jonathon Charlesworth will make his comeback into the team after good performances in the domestic tournament.

Matthew Butturini will return after an injury set back which was saw him miss the 2010 Champions Trophy and Commonwealth Games. 

Following is the Australian team for Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2011: 

George Bazeley (GK), Kiel Brown, Matthew Butturini, Andrew Charter, Jonathan Charlesworth, Chris Ciriello, Brent Dancer, Tim Deavin, Liam De Young (C), Matt Gohdes, Fergus Kavanagh, Simon Orchard, Mark Paterson, Glenn Simpson, Matthew Swann, Glenn Turner, Jacob Whetton and Jason Wilson 

(Team Source: Hockey Australia website)

No comments:

Post a Comment