Apr 7, 2011

Some hockey news of past one week

IHF and HI at loggerheads again
IHF and HI are at loggerheads again, this time over women's hockey. IHF is conducting 56th Women's National which is clashing with training camp which is conducted by HI. HI has also sent a letter to Indian Railways team and asked them not to participate in the Nationals as it was an unsanctioned tournament and asked the players to report for the camp. Railways and Chandigarh team has pulled out from the nationals being conducted by HI.

Women's nationals begin
IHF' 56th Women Nationals has commenced yesterday. 30 teams were supposed to participate in the tournament but only 27 teams confirmed their participation. Railways, Chandigarh and Jharkhand are not participating in the tournament. Railways received a letter from HI and asked them not to participate. Chandigarh has said their team will nt be participating due to examination and Jharkhand has not given any reason for non participation

Sandeep, Sardar not to feature in SAZ
Sardar Singh and Sandeep Singh will not play in upcoming Sultan Azlan Shah tournament as they failed to attend the training camp. They are currently playing in Belgium league and due to their contracts they could not attend the training camp. On the other hand, Hockey India has formed a discipline committee which will look into the matter. Sandeep and Sardar had not taken written permission from HI. They called as conveyed that they will be playing in Belgium League.

Arjun Halappa to be captain for SAZ
Arjun Halappa has been made captain for the upcoming Sultan Azlan Shah Tournament. Arjun takes over the captaincy from Rajpal Singh who led the team last year. He is named the captain of the team due to experience and the respect he commands from the other team members.

List of probables announced
A list of 45 probables has been released by HI for the upcoming Sultan Azlan Shah tournament. Following are the probables:
Goalkeepers: Bharat Kumar Chetri, Adrian D'Souza, P R Sreejesh, Gurpreet Singh, P Naveen Kumar.

Defenders: Diwakar Ram, Dhananjay Mahadik, Rupinderpal Singh, William Xalxo, V Raghunath, Amit Prabhakar, Gurjinder Singh, Sunil Yadav.

Midfielders: Gurbaj Singh, Vikram Pillay, Ravi Pal, Vikas Pillay, Varinderjit Singh, Birendra Lakra (Jr), V S Vinaya, Preetinder Singh, Vikram Kant, Ajitesh Roy, Vikas Sharma, Kothajit Singh, Amardeep Ekka, Rajesh Kumar, Vikas Choudhary.

Forwards: Tushar Khandker, Shivendra Singh, Rajpal Singh, Arjun Halappa (C), Roshan Minz, Gurwinder Singh Chandi, Mohd Amir Khan, S V Sunil, Mandeep Antil, Danish Mujtaba, Sarvanjeet Singh, Prabhdeep Singh, Shashi Topno, Chinglensana Hari Prasad, Bikas Toppo and S Arumugam.

The final team will be announced on 18-19th April

1 comment:

  1. This is not the proper way of functioning, we have to go a long way. anna revolution should have to take place. it is very comedy.