Aug 18, 2010

Canadian team for CWG announced

Ken Pereira, hockey captain
Canadian team for the 19th Commonwealth Games have been announced. There has been lot of changes in the team due to retirement of 5 players after the World Cup. The team has also replaced their head coach and the they are currently using the services of Robin D'Abre.After the World Cup the Canadian team has climbed to the 10th spot in FIH rankings.
The Canadian team will be led by two-time Olympians Ken Pereira (Unionville, ON) and Rob Short (Tsawwassen, BC), both of whom are heading into their forth Commonwealth Games. The two veterans, playing professionally on the same club team in Holland, have also represented Canada in four Pan American Games, and will be heading back to India six months after the World Cup in Delhi.
“I love to compete at the Commonwealth Games,” said Canadian Captain Ken Pereira. “These will be my 4th ones, and to play in India, which is part of my family background, will be special. There are some excellent teams competing in Delhi and it will be a chance for our young team to gain experience of top level competition.”
The team:
Adam Froese,David Carter, Matthew Guest, Richard Hildreth, David Jameson, Antoni Kindler,  Mark Pearson, Keegan Pereira, Ken Pereira, Rob Short, Iain Smythe, Hudson Stewart, Sukhwinder (Gabbar) Singh, Scott Tupper, Jesse Watson, Philip Wright,

Coach: Robin D'Abreo, Vancouver, BC
Assistant Coach: TBD
Manager: Andrew Schouten,
Video Technician: Indy Sehmbi,

The Canadian men’s team will open the competition on Tuesday, October 5, against South Africa before playing against England, Trinidad & Tobago, and New Zealand to wrap up the pool round.

No comments:

Post a Comment